Song of the Day — I HOPE YOU DANCE

My first Song of the Day is by Ms. LeeAnne Womack.  I first heard this song during an episode of a TV show called Any Day Now.  Oh, how I used to love that show!  It starred Annie Potts (M.E. – Mary Elizabeth) and Lorraine Toussaint (Rene), as two women who grew up together in the South as best friends during the Civil Rights Movement and one character was white and the other was black.  The two women grow apart when M.E. “chooses, despite Rene’s disapproval, to keep the child and marry her boyfriend, Colliar Sims. More than twenty years later, M.E. and her husband still live in Birmingham, where they struggle to make ends meet. Their oldest son, Bobby, died as a child, but they have two younger offspring (Kelly and Davis). Rene has moved to Washington D.C. where she is a successful attorney. After the death of her father, Rene decides to move back to Birmingham, where she reunites with M.E.”

Flashing forward to history repeating itself, M.E.’s daughter is a high school student that just informed her mother and father that she and her black boyfriend are going to become parents.  Of course the M.E & Colliar are disappointed, and it appears the same twist of fate that link them together by marriage has gotten its grips on their daughter.  Both struggle with their pride, their expectations and their dreams they had for their daughter Kelly, who is a popular cheerleader and honor roll student. Rene of course supports her best friend M.E. as she comes to terms with this but Colliar is inconsolable and shuts Kelly completely out of his heart.  The storyline proceeds as Kelly watches her life rapidly change and at her homecoming game as the Homecoming Court passes her by, she sits alone and this song begins her father comes to her and extends his hand to hug and dance with is “baby girl.”

Needless to say I cried like a baby!  it could be because of the similarities that I had experienced when I told my parents that I was a pregnant college student, it might have been the resolution of the conflict, it could have even been the simplicity of the song — but more than likely it was the hopes and promises that parents make to their children, just like our heavenly FATHER has and makes for us upon our creation.   Every time I hear this song, I am quickly reminded that life is full of choices.  We can choose to be happy or sad at any given moment of the day.  Life is not defined by how many challenges we were thrown, it is defined by our reactions to those challenges!  We live in a universe that allows us infinite possibilities and the GOD that created us intends for us to live, learn, laugh, love, grow and dance!

LYRICS

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder
You get your fill to eat
But always keep that hunger
May you never take one single breath for granted
God forbid love ever leave you empty-handed
I hope you still feel small
When you stand by the ocean
Whenever one door closes, I hope one more opens
Promise me you’ll give faith a fighting chance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
I hope you dance
I hope you dance

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Living might mean taking chances
But they’re worth taking
Lovin’ might be a mistake
But it’s worth making
Don’t let some hell-bent heart
Leave you bitter
When you come close to selling out
Reconsider
Give the heavens above
More than just a passing glance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
I hope you dance
(Time is a real and constant motion always)
I hope you dance
(Rolling us along)
I hope you dance
(Tell me who)
I hope you dance
(Wants to look back on their youth and wonder)
(Where those years have gone)

I hope you still feel small
When you stand by the ocean
Whenever one door closes, I hope one more opens
Promise me you’ll give faith a fighting chance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
Dance
I hope you dance
I hope you dance
(Time is a real and constant motion always)
I hope you dance
(Rolling us along)
I hope you dance
(Tell me who)
(Wants to look back on their youth and wonder)
I hope you dance
(Where those years have gone)

(Tell me who)
I hope you dance
(Wants to look back on their youth and wonder)
(Where those years have gone)

One thought on “Song of the Day — I HOPE YOU DANCE

Please leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

