Dance With My Father

On July 26, 2002 earth lost a GIANT! My Dad passed away after a eight hour workday, and he was 1-1/2 blocks away from his doctor’s office. My Dad never made it for his annual visit that year. He had been briskly walking and had a massive heart attack. A kind stranger saw him collapse and tried to revive him but couldn’t.

When we were contacted from the medical examiners office to come and identify his body, it was a surreal experience. Initially I was distraught at the thought that my Dad had died alone with no family present. I really had a hard time with that for many months and then one day I thought of that wonderful stranger that went out of his way to try and save my Dad. That wonderful stranger that didn’t walk away and stayed with my Dad as he made the transition from earth to heaven. I never found out who he was but every year I celebrate him, he was my Dad’s Angel and I believe that GOD sent him there for my father.

I didn’t get to say goodbye to my Dad and I often think about him. I see him in my children’s eyes. I hear him in my oldest son’s laugh. I feel his love when I hug my daughter. This Tuesday, I remembered my Dad fondly and placed flowers at his grave with my Mom and I smiled when I remembered my wedding dance with him. I was blessed to have him as a father and I know that we will have one more dance in heaven Until then, I’ll listen to Luther and remember my last Dance With My Father!

Please leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

