Better Than A Hallelujah — Song of the Day

http://youtu.be/Rm5kx3xqmg0

These past month has been so busy it seems like a blur with me running from one thing to the next. I’ve been busy doing things for my family and neglecting myself. Well GOD truly has a way for making me SLOW DOWN and pay attention to myself, its called panic attacks.

My panic attacks are very new and debilitating. There is nothing like thinking you are having a heart attack to really make you look at what is stressing you out in your life and decide to get rid of it if you can or deal with it head on if something in your life needs to change. I admit, I am Type-A personality and I can get pretty wound up about things and the process in which I’d like something to be done. I want the best for everyone around me and that takes a lot of work! Sometimes I get help with things but more often than not I put it upon myself to do it alone. Carrying the workload and sometimes the resentment for completing tasks.

A few weeks ago my Pastor said something in his sermon that convicted my heart about doing things for appearances and not from the love in my heart. I stopped and thought about that for a long time. I was guilty! I needed for this to change. While others raised their hands in approval or whispered Yes, while I cried and vowed to change. I poured out my heart in prayer and I went home and made a list of all the projects. I looked at the things that I had taken on and removed those that brought me no joy and I asked others to help me with those tasks that are just too big for one person to handle. My cries were sweet music to GOD. My burdens feel lighter and my heart feels free. The pressures have been lifted off of me and I’ll admit it feels better than a hallelujah!

Better Than a Hallelujah — lyrics by Amy Grant

God loves a lullaby
In a mother’s tears in the dead of night
Better than a Hallelujah sometimes

God loves the drunkard’s cry
The soldier’s plea not to let him die
Better than a Hallelujah sometimes

We pour out our miseries
God just hears a melody
Beautiful, the mess we are
The honest cries of breaking hearts
Are better than a Hallelujah

The woman holding on for life
The dying man giving up the fight
Are better than a Hallelujah sometimes

The tears of shame for what’s been done
The silence when the words won’t come
Are better than a Hallelujah sometimes

We pour out our miseries
God just hears a melody
Beautiful, the mess we are
The honest cries of breaking hearts
Are better than a Hallelujah

Better than a church bell ringing
Better than a choir singing out, singing out

We pour out our miseries
God just hears a melody
Beautiful, the mess we are
The honest cries of breaking hearts
Are better than a Hallelujah

We pour out our miseries
God just hears a melody
Beautiful, the mess we are
The honest cries of breaking hearts
Are better than a Hallelujah

(Better than a Hallelujah sometimes)
Better than a Hallelujah
(Better than a Hallelujah sometimes)

Please leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

